Zubrag.com
March 26, 2019, 10:58:50 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Send confirmation email on signup  (Read 14767 times)
ianprend

« on: December 08, 2009, 09:43:19 PM »

On successful signup I'd like to send out an automatic confirmation email to the customer with all the information they entered on the signup form as well as a little welcome message. I'd also like to have a notification email sent to me that I have a new subscriber. Does anybody know how this can be done?

1ststop

« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2010, 05:48:58 AM »

I've done this in two parts.

First part is to send yourself an email and that is easy. Find this in signup.php:

// save user to database
    $fusers = fopen(USERS_LIST_FILE,'a+');
    if (!$fusers) {
      $this->error = "Cannot add user to database.";
      return false;
    }
    fputs($fusers, "\n" . $this->login. ',' . $this->pass . ',' . $this->email);
    fclose($fusers);

and add this after it:

// Send email to confirm signup
$to = "your email address";
$subject = "New Signup Confirmation";
$message = "You have a new signup";
$success = mail($to,$subject,$message);

before this:

}

function redirect() {
    header('Location: ' . SIGNUP_THANKS_URL);
    exit();

This is a very simple mail to inform you that a new signup has occurred. This can be more advanced but would require a lot more coding.

The second is more tricky...
1ststop

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2010, 09:09:36 AM »

This is a second reply to answer the second part to overcome the forum's 1000 character restriction.