Zubrag.com
August 21, 2017, 09:46:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Combining two scripts to password_protect files  (Read 65887 times)
zubragbillone

« on: May 18, 2007, 03:05:30 AM »

Thanks a lot for your scripts. I'm a total newbie,  but it only took 5 minutes for me to get them work.

As a sign of gratitude,  I'd like to share with you and the community an experiment I just run.

I had noticed that,  using Smart file download,  once you download a file (a pdf,  in my case) you can retrieve the url  http://whatever.whatever.xxx/download.php?f=filename.pdf and that, typing this url in the address bar,  you can download the file even without entering the site.  (In my case,  I link to that file from a password_protected page,  that requires log-in.  However,  once you know the above path for the filename.pdf,  I could download the file from anywhere).

So,  what I did was to add the line:
<?php include("/whatever/whatever/password_protect.php"); ?>
that one uses to password protect a page at the top of the download.php file.

Now,  if I try to type http://whatever.whatever.xxx/download.php?f=filename.pdf  without having logged-in before,  I am asked for my username and password.

For me, this is a way of password-protecting files which I find very convenient for my purposes.

As I said before,  I'm a newbie,  so do not trust me.  It is working perfectly for now,  but I do not why - which should induce other readers to be very cautious.

In any case,  thanks a lot,  and keep up the good work!

Giuseppe

zubrag
Administrator

« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2007, 05:44:46 AM »

Hi Giuseppe.

Great tip! I'm sure a lot of people will find your tip very helpful.  Thank you for sharing!
altoyes

« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2008, 12:34:14 AM »

thankyou guisseppe